Dr. Dahir M. Hashim
Project Coordinator

Kano was among the 12 states created in May 1967 out of the former Northern Region. It is bounded by latitude 10.5650N to the northern part bounded by latitude 12.5750N and to west is bounded by longitude 7.6930E to the eastern part bounded by longitude 9.3390 E. It boarders with Jigawa State in the east and north, Katsina State in west, Kaduna and Bauchi States in southern part respectively. The State has 44 local governments with an area of 20,479.6 square kilometer and a population of about 20 million people, Hausa and Fulani, who are predominantly Muslims, inhabit Kano State.

The walled city of Kano, which serves as the state capital, is the commercial nerve center of Kano State and indeed the whole of northern Nigeria. The official language of Kano State is Hausa, but English language is commonly spoken as the country’s official language. Most natives can also read Arabic literature.

Historically, Kano State has been a commercial and agricultural state, which is known for the production of groundnuts. The state has over 18,684 square kilometers of cultivable land and it is the most extensively irrigated state in Nigeria. Kano State is noted for its famous markets and it is the most leading industrial center in the north.

Environmental challenges that are predominantly affecting the State include but not limited to:
v.Occasional Drought
vi.Pollution (land, air and water)

1.Dawan Kaya Water Conservation Structure and Provision of Minor Irrigation Facility in Makoda L.G.A. It is located at N 11° 25’ 42.90’ E 009° 12’ 01.70’ and expected to store 6.35 million cubic meters.

2.Fajewa Water Conservation Structure and Provision of Minor Irrigation Facility in Takai L.G.A. It is located at N 12°02’29.6 E 8°33’27.73 and the total storage capacity is 1.06 million cubic meters.

3.Yar Titi Water Conservation Structure and Provision of Minor Irrigation Facility in Shanono L.G.A. The total area covered by this Dam is 5130m2 and the location is N 11 25 42. 90 E 009 12. 01.70

4.Bulbula/Gayawa Erosion Control Site in Ungogo/Nassarawa L.G.A. It is located at N 12° 02’ 08.20’ E 008° 31’ 39.1’ and the total area covered by this erosion site is 2660m2

5.Rarin Erosion Control Site in Dawakin Tofa L.G.A. It is located at 12°06’35.02 N 008°19’.20E it is expected to engulf 7400m2

6.Tudun Fulani Erosion control Site in Ungogo L.G.A. The site has a total area of 5340m2 and is located at 12°02’42.10 N and 008°28’13.05E

7.Kauyen Alu in Tarauni L.G.A is another Erosion Control Site with coordinates of 11°55’39.75 N 008°34’40.09E and an area of 4200m2

8.Kamanda Erosion control Site in Kiru LGA is located at 12°18’11.51 N 8°31’46.49E with an area of 5OOm2